New Material Award

Nominating committee and jury 2016

The nominating committee of this edition included: Hebe Verstappen (he ad of TextielLab TextielMuseum), designer Tjeerd Veenhoven (Studio Tjeerd Veenhoven, winner of incentive award DOEN | Materiaalprijs 2011, nominated for the New Material Award 2014), Pieter Keune, chairman (founder of trade journal vakblad kM, guest lecturer Master course ‘restoration’ at the UvA), Ruud Balkenende (professor of Circular Product Design, TU Delft) and Wendy Plomp (founder and curator, Dutch Invertuals). The jury members under the chairmanship of Pieter Keune, were: Wieki Somers (designer, Studio Wieki Somers), Irene Colicchio (Sustainability Engineer DSM) and Koert van Mensvoort (artist, scientist and philosopher, Next Nature). From the jury report: ‘Designers can indeed bring about a revolution. They think about how materials are used and undertake concrete research that leads to innovative applications of materials. This year’s designers are the driving force behind the movement towards a sustainable society.

Read the publication on New Material Award 2016, or download the PDF below.

Please, accept cookies in order to load the content.

New Material Award

The New Material Award is a joint venture between Stichting DOENFonds Kwadraat and Het Nieuwe Instituut. These organizations firmly believe in the potential of artists, designers and architects to play a vital role in initiating new developments in society, and devising sustainable responses to urgent issues facing us today. The New Material Award is on the cutting edge of science, design, art and technology. The prize aims to challenge participants to think beyond their own discipline in seeking solutions for the future. This ambition is also reflected in the submissions, which span a broad spectrum of innovative solutions in which functionality, aesthetics and sustainability go hand in hand. The prize awards two accolades: the New Material Award of € 15.000 for a final design and the New Material Fellow for a fleshed-out design idea linked to a research question. A committee of experts selected these designs and ideas from 88 entries. 


The eighteen nominees are: Adrianus Kundert with Ripening Rugs, Antoine Peters with The Lenticular Project, Bastiaan de Nennie with The Phygital Virtuosity, buro BELÉN with Living Colours, bureau SLA / Overtreders W with Pretty Plastic Plant, Christien Meindertsma with Flax Chair, Diana Scherer with Interwoven, Eric Geboers with The Salt Pup, No Mad Makers with BAG2WORK, Studio rENs with Fade To Stay, Roel Deden with Printhesis, Rosanne van der Meer with Personal Knitwear for Everybody, Rudolf Romero Borgart with Virtual Paper, Simone Post with POST-VLISCO, Studio Dirk vander Kooij with Holle Buis Techniek, Olivier van Herpt with Functional 3D Printed Ceramics, Maurizio Montalti with The Growing Lab / Mycelia en Maarten Baas withThe Tree Trunk Chair.

Find more information about the nominated works here: